技術與耐心,時尚背後的基礎

克羅地亞美麗手工傳藝

技術與耐心,時尚背後的基礎

手裡捧著帕格花邊



學習製作帕格花邊的小女孩

學習製作帕格花邊的小女孩。


帕格花邊的製作,已經有500多年的歷史。在帕格島,只有帕格鎮婦女們具有這門技術。而販賣花邊所獲得的收入,成了家庭經濟的一個重要來源。



製作帕格花邊使用的工具和技術

製做花邊工具

所有用於製做花邊的工具。

製作花邊所使用的工具有針,棉線,硬紙及圓型枕頭,帕格花邊的製作在未做任何繪製的情況下,而直接在硬紙上進行軸線拉幅工作。每個女人都以她母親和祖母的作品為範例 再增添了個人想法及情感,創造出既獨特風格又精緻的手工傳藝品 。

縫出帕格花邊的軸

第一步:用線將軸縫在硬紙上。

製做花邊是非常耗時的工作需要很大的耐心及專注力,為了要製做出精緻且耐用的花邊,圖案裡的每一段線條都要重覆最少3次同樣的縫製步驟,以增加線條的厚度。因此一塊5平方公分的花邊通常需要超過10個小時完成。縫製花邊一般是使用70號的棉線進行工作,除非少數或特別理由要求使用 100號棉線,則每一段線條要再增加2~3次的重覆步驟,工作花費時間必需增加一倍以上。花邊的圖案愈複雜,製做所需時間就愈長。


帕格花邊的元素

5種花邊元素

帕格花邊中使用的元素圖例。

縫入數字1961的帕格花邊

縫有1961年的花邊。

帕格花邊有31個基本元素這些元素全是從生活裡最常接觸的事物,以想像力轉化而成。例如:河流,葉子,杏仁,輪舵,太陽,小蠅...等等。帕格的婦女們自由地組合31種元素,加上自己的創造力與情感,完成一幀幀獨一無二圖形的花邊工藝品。每一幅作品都含有創作者的心情。例如下一幅縫入"1961"數字的花邊照片,也許對某人而言,這是一個特別的年份。

花邊的縫製還有一個困難點。一個完整的花邊圖案,它的縫製起點一定是由中心點班諾克開始。由於並沒有事先進行繪圖而是直接在硬紙上拉幅,所以要進入下一個圖案縫製時,製造者必需要知道如何在她的作品中,安排下一個中心點的位置,這是需要經驗判斷。一幅好品質的花邊除了圖案結構完整,縫製時施力平均且針數充足,則作品平整不扭曲。當以手指擎住花邊的下端時,花邊直立而不軟倒。花邊亦具有重覆洗滌使用的實用性。

花邊是紡織藝術的終極成就。它是用針線縫製出具有圖案與縷空的獨立個體作品,而它同時又可與布結合應用在各種布製的飾品。與中華文化將線縫在布上的刺繡不一樣。花邊的縫製就像蜘蛛結網的工作,不同的是蛛網會毀損,而花邊會永久流傳。


城市的未來與希望

對帕格鎮的人而言,她們希望藉由結合學校的訓練課程及工會的推廣宣傳,找回帕格花邊工藝的歷史價值,重塑村莊裡世代相傳的人文技藝。在建立民間與政府的合作制度下,為世界非物質文化遺產帕格花邊,建造一條經濟產業之新路,創造文化與經濟兩個面向的共同勝利。


視頻

請到 克羅埃西亞365 的youtube頻道觀看帕格花邊的技能技術影片:

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。 必需的地方已做標記 *

Skill and Patience, Foundation Behind Fashion

Beautiful Handmade Art of Croatia

Skill and Patience, Foundation Behind Fashion

Hands holding a lace from Pag



Little girl learning lace making

Little girl learning Pag lace making.


The history of Pag lace has more than 500 years. In Pag Island, only women of Pag town know the skill way. The income from selling lace was always an important source of family economy.



Tools and Technique Used in Pag Lace

Pag lace tools

All the tools used for Pag lace making.

The tools used for lace making are: needle, cotton thread, cardboard and round pillow. Pag lace is made without any drawing, the tenter axis is first sewn directly on a hard paper. All women used the examples of their mother and grandmother. They added personal thoughts and emotions in the work to create a unique style and exquisite hand-made art.

Sewing the axes of a lace

First step: sewing the axes on a hard paper.

Making lace is a very time-consuming work. It needs a lot of patience and concentration to make delicate and durable lace. Each line in the pattern must repeat the same sewing steps, at least 3 times to increase the thickness of the line. That is why a 5 cm square piece of lace takes more than 10 hours to complete. Usually sewing lace is using 70-gauge cotton thread. For very few and special reasons, 100-gauge cotton thread can be used. Then each line needs to add 2 to 3 more repeating steps. It will take 2 times more to complete. The more complicated the lace pattern is, the longer it takes to make.


The Elements of a Pag Lace

5 drawing of lace elements

Example of elements used in Pag lace.

Pag lace with number 1961

縫有1961年的花邊。

Pag Lace has 31 basic elements. These elements are all the things around us in life and transformed by imagination. For example: river, leaf, almond, rudder, sun, fly… and so on. Pag women combine 31 kinds of elements freely and add their own creativity and emotion to complete a frame of unique lace craft. Each piece contains the mood of the creator. For example, this next lace picture with the number “1961” maybe had a special meaning in this year for someone.

There is another difficulty in sewing lace. A complete lace pattern sewing must start from the central point called Banok (Pogačica). There is no drawing in advance, but a direct tenter on the hard paper. When the maker going to the next pattern. She has to know how to to arrange the position of the next center point. This requires empirical judgment. A good quality lace, in addition to the complete pattern structure, needs an average force applied during sewing, and sufficient number of sewing. Then the work is flat and does not twist. When you hold your finger on the lowest end of the lace, lace keeps upright without soft fall. Lace can be used even after many washing times.

Lace is the ultimate achievement of textile art. It is an independent individual work with patterns and strands sewed with needles and threads. It is different from the embroidery of Chinese culture that stitches the thread on the cloth. At the same time, it can be combined with cloth and used in various cloth accessories. The sewing on lace is like a spider web work. The difference is that the cobweb will damage, and the lace will spread forever.


Future and Hope for the City

Local people of Pag hope that by combining the school’s training courses and the union’s promotion, they will retrieve the historical value of the Pag lace craft, reshape the skills passed down from generation to generation in the village, and by establishing a system of cooperation between civil and government, find a new way of economic industry for the world’s intangible cultural heritage Pag lace, creating a common victory for both culture and economy.


Video

Please check out this video from the Croatia365 youtube channel about Pag lace skill and technique:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.