帕格花邊興衰史

克羅地亞美麗手工傳藝

帕格花邊興衰史

百年前帕格花邊學校的學生

位於帕格鎮中心的教堂及石頭廣場,是由希貝尼克城最著名的設計師朱拉伊•達馬蒂納克(Juraj Dalmatinac)所設計,他的傑作就是希貝尼克大教堂。而精緻耐用的世界非物質文化遺產帕格花邊,就是在帕格鎮製作的。



帕格教堂及石頭廣場

帕格教堂及石頭廣場。

在黑色背景上的帕格花邊

帕格花邊。


興盛時期

因發掘了斯普利特(Split)附近的Salona古鎮而聞名的克羅地亞考古學家Frane Bulić神父,他在西元1880年主辦了一次展覽,向歐洲人展示了美麗的帕格花邊,自此花邊在整個歐洲倍受青睞,而昂貴的價格,從來都只有貴族富豪能訂製使用。於是在19世紀,帕格花邊被稱為”白色金子”。誰擁有愈多的帕格花邊,就被視為富裕的人。當一個女孩所屬的家庭擁有愈多花邊,女孩愈容易嫁出去。

1897年瑪麗亞·約瑟芬公主的肖像,卡茲米爾茲·波奇瓦爾斯基繪

1897年瑪麗亞·約瑟芬公主的肖像,卡茲米爾茲·波奇瓦爾斯基繪。

19世紀初,奧地利人納塔莉•布魯克-奧芬伯格(Natalie Bruck-Auffenberg)為撰寫《達爾馬提亞及其民間藝術》一書,她花了十年的時間旅行在達爾馬提亞海岸及所有的小島間,尋找已消失的杜布羅夫尼克花邊。過程中她抵逹帕格鎮,購買了一些花邊帶回奧地利。1905年10月納塔莉•布魯克-奧芬伯格將花邊送給奧匈帝國皇帝的母親,斯洛伐克奧托•馮•哈布斯堡王朝的瑪麗亞•約瑟芬大公夫人。她在收到這份美麗的禮物後沒幾天,即來到帕格,並成為第一位訂製花邊的皇室成員。同年,她又召喚了數位帕格的婦女進入維也納的皇宮,為皇家成員縫製鞋子、衣物服飾、及佈置教堂所需各式用品。自此花邊成為奧匈帝國的皇家御用品,及城市裡各貴族富人爭相訂購的奢華品。

隨著當地的需求增加及潮流的變化,花邊被要求符合更多特殊使用目標的設計,及不同的流行款式,於是Nilla Rakamarić在1907年從維也納返回家鄉帕格鎮。她在廣場旁的一間房子裡開設了花邊製作學校,並開始培訓製作花邊的人,由市長Budak 開發繪製新設計圖。此後學校開始依設計生產最新式的花邊。從這個時期開始,花邊呈現出如今所見的幾何形狀。


危機

一次世界大戰後,隨著奧匈帝國及神聖羅馬帝國的瓦解,歐洲貴族的没落,及二十世紀的傳統服飾的消亡,具有花邊裝飾的桌布,祭壇布,床罩和手帕漸漸被淘汰。花邊訂製量快速減少,花邊學校幾乎關閉。但在1937年時,因獲得紐約世界博覽會金牌而名氣又起,訂製客源暫時提高。數年後二次世界大戰爆發,直到1944年,戰爭還是造成花邊學校解散。

大戰結束後整個巴爾幹半島組成南斯拉夫社會主義聯邦共和國。象徵皇室貴族財富的花邊已不受重視,失去所有訂製來源。爾後數十年的時間裡,擁有縫製花邊技能的婦女們凋零死亡,此傳統技術面臨消失的危機。


非物質的文化遺產

直到1993年克羅地亞獨立建國後,開始重新重視花邊傳藝。於是在當地居民及政府的共同努力下,新的花邊學校在1994年重新開設,課程從每年九月開始,到隔年六月結束。完成學習的學員,在交出學習作品後,都會獲得學校授予的結業證書。

知道更多有關Pag和Pag花邊的更多有趣的事,請觀看以下影片:

2009年,縫製帕格花邊的技術被聯合國教科文組織登錄為世界非物質文化遺產。數百年來帕格花邊不只是帕格島的驕傲,現在也是克羅埃西亞國家用來致贈各國元首、部長來賓的外交國家禮品。

在帕格鎮上即使到了現在,仍有可能看到年長的女士們,穿傳統服飾在街邊勤奮地做著花邊編織工作。

帕格鎮仍然繼續生產出帝王們珍視的花邊。

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。 必需的地方已做標記 *

Pag Lace: Rise and Fall

Beautiful Handmade Art of Croatia

Pag Lace: Rise and Fall

Pag lace school students a hundred years ago

The town of Pag is known for 2 things. First, for its church and stone square in the center town, designed by Juraj Dalmatinac, Šibenik’s most famous designer whose masterpiece is Šibenik Cathedral希貝尼克大教堂. Second, for its delicate and durable world intangible cultural heritage: the Pag lace.



Pag church and stone square

Pag church and stone square.

Pag lace on black background

Pag lace.


The rising time

Father Frane Bulić, a Croatian archeologist known for his excavation of the ancient town of Salona near Split, hosted an exhibition in 1880 showing to Europeans the beautiful lace of Pag. Since then it has become very popular in whole Europe, but because of its high price, only aristocracy, nobles, and rich people, could become customers, so that in the 19th century, Pag lace was called “white gold”. Whoever had a lot of Pag laces was considered as a wealthy person. The more laces a girl’s family had, the easier it was for her to get married.

Portrait of Princess Maria Josephine in 1897 by Kazimierz Pochwalski

Portrait of Princess Maria Josephine in 1897 by Kazimierz Pochwalski.

At the beginning of the 19th century, the Austrian Lady Natalie Bruck-Auffenberg wrote a book “Dalmatia and Folk Art”《達爾馬提亞及其民間藝術》. She spent ten years traveling in Dalmatia looking for the disappearing Dubrovnik lace. She travelled along the coast and all its islands and finally arrived in Pag where she bought some laces. In October 1905, back in Vienna, she offered a lace to the mother of the Austro-Hungarian Emperor, the Grand Duchess Maria Josephine 瑪麗亞•約瑟芬大公夫人of the Otto Von Habsburgs of Slovakia. A few days after receiving this beautiful gift, the Grand Duchess came to Pag and became the first royal member to order laces. The same year, she summoned several women from Pag to enter the Royal Palace in Vienna, to make shoes, clothing and accessories for the royal members and to furnish all the supplies needed for the church. Since then, lace has become the royal imperial article of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, and the nobles in the city were rushing to order these luxury goods.

As local demand increased and trends changed, lace was required to meet more specific design goals and different popular styles, so that Nilla Rakamarić, a woman from Pag who accomplished a year-long course of lace-making in Vienna, returned to hers hometown of Pag in 1907. She opened a lace school in a house next to the stone square, began to give lace-making courses, and create new designs. The mayor Budak himself made some very successful designs, and later he became a drawing teacher at the school. From this period onwards, lace produced by the school appeared in the geometric shapes that we can see today.


The Crisis

After the First World War, with the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and the Roman Empire, the power of the European aristocracy declined, and with it, gradually disappear the interest for traditional costumes, tablecloths, altar cloths, bedspreads and handkerchiefs. The amount of lace orders quickly decreased, and Pag school almost closed. However, in 1937, due to the gold medal at the New York World’s Fair and renewed fame, the number of customers temporarily increased. A few years later, the outbreak of the Second World War caused the dissolution of the school in 1944.

After the war, the entire Balkan Peninsula formed the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia南斯拉夫社會主義聯邦共和國, a communist country. The lace, which symbolized the wealth of the royal family, was ignored and lost all its customers. In the following decades, women with sewing skills dyed, and this traditional technique was in danger of disappearing.


Intangible Cultural Heritage

After Croatia’s independence in 1993, the new country began to re-emphasize lace tradition. Therefore, with the joint efforts of local residents and government, the new lace school was re-opened in 1994. Each year the course begins in September and ends in June of the next year. Students who have completed the studies receive a certificate of completion from the school after handing in their work.

If you want to get more information about Pag and Pag lace, watch out this video:

In 2009, the technique of sewing Pag lace was registered as a World Intangible Cultural Heritage by UNESCO. Pag lace has been known for hundreds of years, but it is not only the pride of the Island, it is also a diplomatic state gift used by the Croatian country to heads of state or important guests.

Today, in Pag, it is still possible to see older ladies in traditional costumes, diligently doing lace weaving work in the streets.

The town of Pag continues to produce the lace cherished by the emperors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.