雷波格拉瓦花邊的興衰

克羅地亞美麗手工傳藝

雷波格拉瓦花邊的興衰

在黑色背景上的雷波格拉瓦花邊

雷波格拉瓦花邊與第一隱士聖保羅勳章(又稱白色修士)有關。西元1400年時期,僧侶們採取了隱居方式過著研讀知識及奉獻的生活,形成當時歐洲的科學,藝術和文化搖籃。



雷波格拉瓦花邊的起源

白衣修士坐著並在寫字

從聖保羅教士團來的白色修士。

雷波格拉瓦(Lepoglava)小鎮位於伊凡許恰卡山(Ivanščica Mountain)下方,克羅地亞高地柔順起伏的優美地景中,被貝尼亞(Bednja)河一分為二。這個小鎮位於當時歐洲薩格勒布到維也納,及薩格勒布到布達佩斯的兩大主要公路的附近。由於具有交通堪稱便利,及與喧鬧城市有適當的距離的優勢,匈牙利的聖保羅教士團的修士來到此處,建立第一座隱修院。多年後,在貴族士紳協助下,成立第一所公立中學及大學。

修士的來臨,也帶來了美麗迷人的花邊編織技能。此後製作花邊的藝術逐漸被村民所接受,將其應用在生活服飾及傢俱日用物品中,成為一種數百年來完全從未被打斷的傳統。


興盛及衰退

第一次世界大戰後丹妮卡.鮑絲蕾兒(Danica Brossler)透過官方機構鼓勵婦女再開始製造花邊,並為此目的開設了課程,講習班和花邊製作學校。Lepoglava花邊分別在1937年巴黎世界博覽會上獲得金牌獎,及1939年柏林世博會獲得銅牌。這是Lepoglava花邊工藝品綻放最盛的時期。

直到第二次世界大戰發生時,克羅地亞被義大利所佔領,造成學校中斷了花邊製作的教育及工作,但是許多婦女還是繼續編製花邊販售,維持生活,於是Lepoglava的花邊傳藝才能延續。


非物質的文化遺產

1945年大戰結束後,巴爾幹半島上所有國家組成南斯拉夫社會主義聯邦共和國,在共產政權時期,這一傳統幾乎消失了。直到1993年克羅地亞獨立建國後,開始重視花邊傳藝。 1997年在政府支持下,雷波格拉瓦鎮舉辦第一屆國際花邊節。由於市議會的長期關注,花邊製作學校再次在雷波格拉瓦活躍起來,市議會看到了這一機會帶來的就業和利潤,進一步製定萊波格拉瓦花邊圖案設計、編織工作及教育推廣銷售程序化計畫。該計畫獲得了瓦拉日丁縣政府和經濟部門接受,給予財政支持。計畫推動後創造了良好的環境條件,使稀有民族誌價值以外的花邊成為一種能夠創造經濟活動,並為該地區婦女提供收入的產品。

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。 必需的地方已做標記 *

Lepoglava Lace: Rise and Fall

Beautiful Handmade Art of Croatia

Lepoglava Lace: Rise and Fall

Lepoglava lace on black bagkround

Lepoglava lace is related to the Order of Saint Paul the First Hermit (also known as the White Monk). In the year 1400, these monks adopted a life of seclusion, knowledge, and dedication, forming the cradle of science, art, and culture in Europe at that time.



Origin of Lepoglava Lace

White monk sitting and writing

White monk from the Order of Saint Paul the First Hermit.

The small town of Lepoglava is located below the Ivanščica Mountain, in the graceful and gentle landscape of the Croatian highlands, and is divided into two by the Bednja river. The town was located near the two main roads from Zagreb to Vienna and from Zagreb to Budapest. Because of its convenient transportation and proper distance from the noisy city, the monks of the St. Pauli Order of Hungary came here to establish the first hermitage. Many years later, with the assistance of aristocratic gentry, the first public middle school and university were established.

The advent of monks also brought beautiful and charming lace weaving skills. Since then, the art of making lace has gradually been accepted by the villagers, and it has become a tradition that has never been interrupted for hundreds of years.


Rise and Disappearance

After World War I, Danica Brossler encouraged women to start making lace again through official institutions, and offered courses, workshops, and a lace-making school for this purpose. Lepoglava Lace won the gold medal at the Paris World Expo in 1937 and the bronze medal at the 1939 World Expo in Berlin. This is the heyday of Lepoglava’s lace crafts.

Until World War II, when Croatia was occupied by Italy, the school interrupted the education and work of lace production, but many women continued to make lace sales to maintain their lives, so Lepoglava’s lace tradition could continue.


Intangible Cultural Heritage

After the war, all countries in the Balkan Peninsula formed the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. This tradition almost disappeared during the communist regime. Until 1993, when Croatia became an independent country, it began to pay attention to lace. In 1997, with the support of the government, the first international lace festival was held in Lepoglava. Due to the long term attention of the city council, the lace production school became active again in Lepoglava. The city council saw the employment and profit brought by this opportunity, and formulated the program of Lepoglava’s lace pattern design, weaving work, education, promotion, and sales. The plan was accepted by the Varaždin County Government and by the economic sector, with financial support. The promotion of the plan has created favorable environmental conditions, stepping lace out of the cultural and ethnography exhibition rooms, to form an actual economic activity providing income for women in the region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.