杜布羅夫尼克歷史

克羅地亞美麗手工傳藝

杜布羅夫尼克歷史

杜布羅夫尼克的主要街道
徽章

拉古薩共和國的徽章。

據說在杜布羅夫尼克這個地區,史前時期就有聚落形成,但由於年代過於久遠,又沒有任何的紀錄,因此真正的杜布羅夫尼克歷史的起源是無法確認。但可以確定的是,杜布羅夫尼克在這塊由堅硬岩石組成的土地上,已經存在超過1400年了。



在克羅埃亞的拉古薩共和國地圖

拉古薩共和國在今天克羅埃西亞的位置。

歷史的序言

杜布羅夫尼克城始建於公元7世紀。以“岩石島”之稱而得名。杜布羅夫尼克位於克羅埃西亞國境之南,與義大利半島東岸相望。它控制著亞德里亞的海運線,及亞洲進入該海域的要點,自古為兵家必爭之要塞,所以杜布羅夫尼克的興衰歷史,猶如歐洲歷史的縮影。杜布羅夫尼克也是地中海著名的旅遊勝地。1979年,該城的舊城區被聯合國教科文組織登錄世界遺產名錄。


東西羅馬帝國地圖

東西羅馬帝國。

杜布羅夫尼克歷史的起源

這個城市原本是被東哥特王國所統治。六世紀中期,東羅馬帝國(即拜占庭帝國,現今的土耳其)為了奪回被東哥特人所佔領的西羅馬帝國領土,與其開戰而贏得勝利。而後杜布羅夫尼克即被東羅馬帝國納入翼下保護。雖然有一段時期,杜布羅夫尼克成為一個政治完全自主的共和國,但在第四次十字軍東征後,杜布羅夫尼克被威尼斯共和國(1205-1358)統治,並將其劃歸於達爾馬提亞城市所管理。13世紀末某年的八月發生一場大火燒毀整座城市,於是杜布羅夫尼克做了新的城市規劃,而開始有現在的城市樣貌。


杜布羅夫尼克的興起與全盛時期

拉古薩共和國從14世紀建立,到1808年止,該國的國力在15至16世紀時達到高峰。它的經濟及軍事力量可以與威尼斯及其他義大利海岸國家匹敵。在成為自由邦後,共和國實行許多在當時而言是非常先進的施政措施,包括建立醫療系統,開設第一間藥房(現仍在運作),設立老人收容所及傳染病隔離醫院,廢除奴隸貿易,開設孤兒院,建設20公里長的供水系統。

拉古薩國旗

拉古薩國旗。

杜布羅夫尼克擁有龐大的商船船隊,商人遍及世界各地自由地旅行。通過這些旅行,他們從印度到美國建立了一些定居點,並將當地的部分文化和植物帶回家。杜布羅夫尼克商隊在世界貿易業裡成功的關鍵之一,不是使用征服手段,而是在1418年共和國廢除了奴隸貿易時,它採用了在白旗上以拉丁字母書寫”自由”一詞為標幟。以自由的精神在各地進行交易和航行,因而跟世界各地建立友好的關係,而獲得可自由進出各國城市的特權。


災難

1667年的杜布羅夫尼克繪圖

1667年以前的杜布羅夫尼克。

1667年4月6上午8點左右,這座城市發生該城歷史上最大的自然災害,一場大地震造成整個城市幾乎被摧毀,5000多人死亡。隨後而來的大海嘯沖擊毀壞了港口與所有船隻,淹沒了海岸附近的一切。因地震發生的火災,加上大風助燃, 20天的大火徹底燒毀城市裡的一切。總督及多數的政治要人在此次的大災難中死亡,城市在災後陷入無政府狀態,隨後即遭到強盜掠奪。在嚴重的天災人禍打擊下,原本富裕的拉古薩共和國受到重創,開始走向衰退。為了避免共和國經濟的崩解,以及陷入奧斯曼帝國與威尼斯大公國的軍事衝突中,1699年,共和國被迫將涅姆的領土出售給奧斯曼帝國。


共和國末日

1806年5月27日,法蘭西帝國軍隊佔領了中立的拉古薩共和國,將其併入拿破崙王國。1810年,拉古薩與伊斯特拉(Istria)和達爾馬提亞(Dalmatia)三塊區域,被歸併成法屬的伊利里亞省。雖然共和國在1815年時獲得奧地利與英國的軍隊支持,驅逐了法國人,並試圖恢復國家主權及地位。但在政治裡是沒有免費的援助。身為歐洲盟國領袖的奧匈帝國,將其所佔領的拉古薩共和國部分領土,與之前入侵了從威尼斯到科托爾的整個亞得里亞海東部海岸的領土結合起來,建立了達爾馬提亞王國,並將政權中心及議會設在克羅埃西亞最古老的城市札達爾。自此拉古薩共和國從未能復國成功。


再次興起

一次世界大戰後,奧匈帝國瓦解,這座城市併入了新的塞爾維亞,克羅地亞和斯洛文尼亞王國(後稱南斯拉夫王國)。杜布羅夫尼克成為王國的33 個州之一。二次世界大戰中,這座城市先後被義大利及德國軍隊佔領。大戰後南斯拉夫王國成為南斯拉夫社會主義共和國,杜布羅夫尼克經過數年的重建後,開放觀光,遊客開始回來這座城市。在1965年,經過十年沿整個海岸線的修築工程,連接杜布羅夫尼克與里耶卡的“亞得里亞公路”(馬斯蒂拉拉)終於開放,大力促進了南斯拉夫的旅遊業發展。

1979年,杜布羅夫尼克被聯合國教科文組織登錄為世界遺產名錄後,遊客大量進入這座古老的城市。由於旅遊業增長所帶來的收入對於戰後城市(包括機場興建)的發展至關重要,所以也導致了杜布羅夫尼克舊城區解除軍事管制的決定。自此這座城市毫無保留地對世界全面開放了。

19世紀以來,因為杜布羅夫尼克擁有的蔚藍海景及熱烈的貿易市場,成為有名的觀光勝地與交易城市。

1993年克羅埃西亞獨立建國,將這座城市納入其版圖,杜布羅夫尼克成為杜布羅夫斯克-內雷特瓦縣的縣治所在。截至2011年的人口普查,該縣有122,568名居民。在人口密度為每平方公里69人。族裔克羅地亞人佔大多數,佔94.4%,其次是塞族人,佔1.7%。

這是有意思的影片來自 克羅埃西亞365 YouTube頻道講述了杜布羅夫尼克三生三世故事:


10年前,因為一部史詩級的戲劇“權力的遊戲”,選中此城為劇中一重要場景。隨著此劇的爆紅,這個城市的儼然躍升成世界一級的觀光亮點。對於《權力的遊戲》的粉絲,這裡有一段有趣的影片,介紹了影集裡如何將杜布羅夫尼克做轉變:


是關於杜布羅夫尼克的有用的旅遊鏈接清單:

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開。 必需的地方已做標記 *

Dubrovnik History

Beautiful Handmade Art of Croatia

Dubrovnik History

The main street of Dubrovnik
Coat of arms

Coat of arms of the Republic of Ragusa.

It is said that in the area of Dubrovnik, settlements were formed in the prehistoric period, but because this is too old and there is no record, the real beginning of Dubrovnik history cannot be truly confirmed. However, what is certain is that Dubrovnik has existed on this hard rock land for more than 1400 years.



Map of Ragusa Republic in Croatia

Location of Ragusa Republic in today Croatia.

Foreword to the History

Dubrovnik was built in the 7th century AD. The name means the “Rock Island”. It is located at the south of Croatia, near the border with Bosnia-Herzegovina and Montenegro, and faces the east coast of the Italian Peninsula. Dubrovnik was located on the maritime line between Europe and Asia, and it was an important point to control the freight lines of the Adriatic Sea. It has been a fortress for military strategists since ancient times, so that Dubrovnik history is like a microcosm of European history. Dubrovnik is today a famous tourist destination. In 1979, UNESCO registered the old part of the city in the list of World Cultural Heritage.


Map of eastern and western Roman Empire

Eastern and western Roman Empire.

Origin of Dubrovnik History

The city was originally ruled by the Ostrogoth Kingdom. In the mid-sixth century, the Eastern Roman Empire (that is, the Byzantine Empire, and now Turkey) won the war against the Ostrogoth Kingdom in order to regain the power of the Western Roman Empire. Dubrovnik was then included under the protection of the Eastern Roman Empire. After that, although there was a period when Dubrovnik was a politically autonomous republic, after the Fourth Crusade, it was ruled by the Republic of Venice (1205-1358). At the end of the 13th century, due to a fire that destroyed the entire city, Dubrovnik made a new urban plan and began to look like the current city.


Rise and Heyday of Dubrovnik

The Republic of Ragusa was established from the 14th century until 1808. The country’s national strength peaked between the 15th and 16th centuries. Its economic and military power could rival Venice and other Italian coastal countries. After becoming a free state, the Republic of Ragusa began to implement many very advanced policies at that time, including the establishment of a medical system, the opening of the first pharmacy (which is still in operation), the establishment of elderly shelters and infectious disease isolation hospital, the abolition of the slave trade, the opening of an orphanage, and the build of a 20-kilometers water supply system.

Ragusa flag

Ragusa flag.

Dubrovnik had a large fleet of merchant ships, and businessmen traveled freely throughout the world. They established some settlements from India to the United States and brought back some local culture and plants. One of the key of success of the Dubrovnik caravan in the world trade was to not use conquest way, but when the Republic abolished the slave trade in 1418, it adopted the word “freedom” written in Latin letters on a white flag. The Merchant Marine team traded and sailed around in a free spirit, thus establishing friendly relations with all parts of the world.


The Disaster

Draw of Dubrovnik in 1667

Dubrovnik before 1667.

On the 6th of April 1667, at about 8 am, Dubrovnik experienced the largest natural disaster of its history. A major earthquake caused almost the entire city to be destroyed, killing more than 5,000 people. The subsequent tsunami shock destroyed the port and all ships, and drowned everything near the coast. Due to the fires caused by the earthquake and the strong wind, the 20-day fire completely destroyed everything in the city. The Governor and most of the political figures died in this catastrophe, and the city fell into anarchy and was immediately plundered by robbers. Under the severe natural and human disasters, the originally affluent Republic of Ragusa was hit hard and began to decline. In order to avoid the collapse of the welfare of the Republic and the military conflict between the Ottoman Empire and the Grand Duchy of Venice, in 1699, the Republic was forced to sell the territory of Neum to the Ottoman Empire.


End of the Republic

The 27th of May 1806, the French Imperial Army occupied the neutral Republic of Ragusa and incorporated it into the Kingdom of Napoleon. In 1810, the three regions of Ragusa, Istria, and Dalmatia, merged to become the French Illyria province. Because the Republic gained support from Austrian and British armies, in 1815 they successfully expelled the French army, and tried to restore the sovereignty and status of the Republic. But there is no unconditional support in politics, and the Austro-Hungarian Empire, leader of the European allies, didn’t give back the occupied territory to the Republic of Ragusa. Instead it combined it with the occupied territories of the entire Adriatic coast from Venice to Kotor (in now Montenegro) to establish the Kingdom of Dalmatia, and the political center and parliament were located in Zadar, the oldest city in Croatia. Since then, the Republic of Ragusa has never been able to return successfully.


Rise Again

After the First World War, the Austro-Hungarian Empire collapsed. The city of Dubrovnik was incorporated into the new country of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes (later called the Kingdom of Yugoslavia). Dubrovnik became one of the 33 regions of the Kingdom. During World War II, the city was occupied by Italian and German troops. After the war, and many years reconstruction, the city was reopened for sightseeing, and tourists began to return to Dubrovnik. In 1965, after 10 years of construction, opened an important road called “Adriatic Highway” (Mastila) built along the entire coastline, connecting Dubrovnik to Rijeka. This greatly helped to promote tourism development.

After Dubrovnik was registered as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1979, a large number of tourists entered this ancient city. As the income from the growth of tourism industry was crucial to the development of post-war cities (including airport construction), the government decided to lift military control of the old town of Dubrovnik. Since then the city has been fully open to the world without reservation.

Since the 19th century, Dubrovnik has become a famous tourist resort and trading city because of the blue sea and the lively trading market.

In 1993 the Republic of Croatia was established and Dubrovnik became a Croatian city.

Here is a nice video from the Croatia365 youtube channel going through the 3 lives of Dubrovnik:


Ten years ago, because of an epic drama “Game of Thrones”, this city was chosen as an important scene in the play. With the popularity of this drama, the city has suddenly become a world-class tourist highlight. For the fans of Game of Thrones, here is an interesting video about the transformation of Dubrovnik for this movie:


Here is a list of useful tourist links about Dubrovnik:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.